Award Winning Michael G. Jacobson Service Learning Program

The Awards Committee of the International Center for Service-Learning in Teacher Education have chosen the Michael G. Jacobson Service Learning Program at Appalachian State University for the 2012 ICSLTE Program Award for Service-Learning Excellence in Teacher Education in the United States. The purpose of the award is to recognize a teacher education program for excellence in service-learning program design and implementation.

The Elementary Education Service Learning program is coordinated by Drs. Ann-Marie Clark and Allen Bryant. Dr. Clark is an Associate Professor and Dr. Bryant is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction in the Reich College of Education. Dr. Clark and Dr. Bryant have been leading the program since Fall 2006.

The award was announced at the 2012 ICSLTE International Conference on Service-Learning in Teacher Education, June 23, 2012, at Duke University, Durham, North Carolina.

Published: Jun 23, 2012 12:00am